Get Adobe Flash player
FacebookTwitterRSS Feed
August 2019
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

2019 STAR finalists announced

Star Group

photo/Kyle Frantz Photography

2019 STAR finalists (l-r students seated/teachers standing behind them) student Katherine Densmore & teacher Kanyon Petti, Tyler Westbrook & Christine Westbrook, Thomas Pinson & Ginger Rizoti, Emily Robinson & Wil Nix, Dale Smith & Kathy Daymude, Bethany Carver & Ted Estes, Rosemary Willis & Christi Hobgood, Miles Gregg & Keith Petty, Olivia Fountain & Angela Quarles, Emma DiPuma & Jolain Brownell.

Submitted by Reeder Burch

Jasper Optimist Club

The Optimist Club of Jasper, local sponsor for the STAR program (Student Teacher Achievement Recognition) is pleased to recognize the 2019 PHS STAR finalists.

For over 30 years the Optimists have recognized the PHS STAR student and teacher along with nine STAR finalists with the largest and most unique local STAR banquet in this statewide program. In the local program, the Optimists not only recognize the STAR student and teacher, but an additional nine STAR student and teacher finalists.  

The 2019 STAR finalists are:

Bethany Carver, Ted Estes

Katherine Densmore, Kanyon Petti

Emma DiPuma, Jolain Brownell

Olivia Fountain, Angela Quarles

Miles Gregg, Keith Petty

Thomas Pinson, Ginger Rizoti

Emily Robinson, Wil Nix

Tyler Westbrook, Christine Westbrook

Rosemary Willis, Christi Hobgood

The PAGE (STAR) program, is administered and promoted by the Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE). Since its inception in 1958 the STAR program has honored nearly 26,500 students and the teachers selected as the most influential to their academic achievement. 

To obtain the STAR nomination, high school seniors must have the highest score on a single test date on the three-part SAT and be in the top 10 percent or top 10 students of their class based on grade point average.

The Optimist Club of Jasper will recognize the 2019 STAR finalists and their selected teachers along with the 2019 STAR Student Dale Smith and his STAR Teacher – Dr. Kathy Daymude, at the annual STAR banquet on Tuesday evening, March 12 at 7 p.m. at Chattahoochee Technical College, 100 Campus Drive, Jasper.  Anyone interested in attending the banquet should email the Optimist Club at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  Reservations are required, and tickets are $25 per person. 

The Woodbridge Inn, who has catered the Optimist STAR program since the first banquet, will again cater this year’s banquet. 

Dr. Chaudron Gille, interim provost and vice-president of Academic Affairs for the University of North Georgia, will be the guest speaker for this year’s banquet.